Eight men vie for St. Louis Cup, Sept. 10

MMWA 9/10/16

The sixth annual St. Louis Cup tournament takes place at the South Broadway Athletic Club on Saturday, September 10.

The winner receives a blank championship match contract, good for the title of their choice.  It is redeemable at any MMWA event for one year.  Past winners include (in chronological order) : Brandon Espinosa, Dave Osborne, Brian James, Da’Marius Jones, and Gary Jackson.

Originally a straight-up single-elimination tournament in 2011, the Cup switched to its current format in 2014.  All of the winners became MMWA Heavyweight Champion in the months following their victory.

Breaking News: The MWR Missouri Heavyweight Title is at stake in Brandon Espinosa’s seventh defense.  Espy was scheduled to defend the MMWA Tag Team straps with Ace Hawkins.  Hawkins has had to withdraw due to “important personal obligations.”

20160910 MMWA

Read the title announcement and rules

Missouri Heavyweight Championship
CBrandon Espinosa vs. Damion Cortess

King of St. Louis Cup Tournament | Winners meet in four-way elimination final!
#2Gary Jackson vs. Da’Marius Jones
#8Moondog Rover vs. Jimmy D
Kevin Lee Davidson vs. B.T. Daramola
Barackus vs. Jim Hoffarth

#10Brian James & Everett Connors vs. Danny Adams & J’Mal Swagg

Bell at 8.  Tickets are $8.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: